Red Yeast Rice Brands to Avoid: Monacolin Variability and Citrinin

A woman in a shop aisle comparing the backs of two plain supplement bottles

5 independent surveys tested red yeast rice products between 2001 and 2021, and none found a predictable dose. That matters more than any brand name, so this page names no brands and shows what to check instead.

The same checks apply to every bottle, including ours.

Quick Answer: Which Red Yeast Rice Products Should You Avoid?

No brand list can replace checks. Testing found monacolin K from none to 10.09 mg per capsule across products, and citrinin in 4 of 12 US and all 37 EU products tested. Avoid products sold as a statin, ask for a certificate of analysis covering citrinin, and never stack 2 red yeast rice products.

Key Takeaways

  • Monacolin K ran from 0.10 to 10.09 mg in 600 mg capsules.
  • 2 of 28 US brands contained no detectable monacolin K at all.
  • Citrinin, a kidney toxin, appeared in all 37 EU products tested.
  • 4 products labelled citrinin free still contained it in 2021 testing.
  • Japan's 2024 kidney cases involved a contaminant other than citrinin.

Why Brand Lists Mislead

Search results name brands from old FDA warning letters and recalls. A name tells you less than the product's chemistry, which no brand controls perfectly.

  • Monacolin K: Varies widely between brands.
  • Citrinin: Depends on the mold strain and fermentation conditions.
  • Labels: Rarely state either amount.
  • Recalls: Describe past lots, not the next one.

A 2014 analysis found both monacolin and citrinin content depend on the strain and the fermentation.[1]Quantification of monacolins and citrinin in red yeast rice raw materials and dietary supplements — Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis (2014) View source

What the fermented rice is in the first place is covered in what the fermented rice is.

What 5 Surveys Found

These are independent laboratory studies of products bought from ordinary retailers.

Product survey What was tested What testing found
2001, United States 9 products Total monacolins 0% to 0.58% by weight; citrinin in 7
2010, United States 12 products, each labelled 600 mg Monacolin K 0.10 to 10.09 mg per capsule; citrinin high in 4
2014, United States 14 supplements Monacolin K 0.03 to 2.18 mg per 600 mg
2017, United States 28 brands None in 2; 0.09 to 5.48 mg per 1,200 mg in the rest
2021, European Union 37 products Citrinin in all 37; label content off in 33

In 2010, with every product labelled 600 mg, monacolin K ran from 0.10 to 10.09 mg per capsule.[2]Marked variability of monacolin levels in commercial red yeast rice products — Archives of Internal Medicine (2010) View source In 2017, 2 of 28 brands had none detectable.[3]Variability in strength of red yeast rice supplements purchased from mainstream retailers — European Journal of Preventive Cardiology (2017) View source

The 2021 European study also found traces of simvastatin, a synthetic statin, in 30 of 37 products.[4]Risk Assessment of RYR Food Supplements: Perception vs. Reality — Frontiers in Nutrition (2021) View source What that range means for a daily amount is in what a sensible daily amount looks like.

Five dishes of red yeast rice powder in visibly different shades of red

Citrinin: The Contaminant to Ask About

Citrinin is a toxin made by some Penicillium, Aspergillus and Monascus molds, often alongside another kidney toxin, ochratoxin A.

  • Targets: Kidney, liver, heart and reproductive system in studies.
  • 2001: Found in 7 of 9 US products.
  • 2021: Found in all 37 EU products; only 1 met the newer limit.
  • Labels: 4 products marked citrinin free contained it.

Its toxicity depends on the amount and how long exposure lasts.[5]A comprehensive review on biological properties of citrinin — Food and Chemical Toxicology (2017) View source The 2001 figure of 7 in 9 products comes from an early US survey.[6]An analysis of nine proprietary Chinese red yeast rice dietary supplements — Journal of Alternative and Complementary Medicine (2001) View source

Japan 2024: A Different Contaminant

The largest red yeast rice safety event so far was not about monacolin K or citrinin.

  • Products: Beni-koji tablets made from 3 preparations.
  • Patients: 192 in a nationwide survey of kidney specialists.
  • Injury: Kidney tubule damage, often with Fanconi syndrome.
  • Afterwards: 87% still had reduced kidney function at last follow-up.

The survey notes the implicated strains did not produce citrinin.[7]A nationwide questionnaire study evaluated kidney injury associated with Beni-koji tablets in Japan — Kidney International (2025) View source The incident was traced to puberulic acid, a toxin from a Penicillium mold.[8]Assessment of mutagenic potential of puberulic acid contaminated in red yeast rice (beni-koji) supplements — Mutagenesis (2026) View source

Biopsies in 2 cases confirmed injury to the kidney tubules.[9]Fanconi syndrome with acute proximal tubular injury induced by a dietary supplement containing beni-koji — BMC Nephrology (2024) View source The lesson for buyers is that a stray mold in fermentation can bring a toxin nobody was testing for.

Hands holding a magnifying glass over the blank label of a supplement bottle

A Checklist Before You Buy

None of these checks proves a product safe, but each removes a known failure.

  • Ask: For a certificate of analysis covering citrinin and monacolins.
  • Skip: Products sold as a statin or a drug substitute.
  • Never stack: 2 products that both contain red yeast rice.
  • Read the blend: Note any added CoQ10 or other actives.
  • Keep: The lot number, in case of a recall.

Combination products often add CoQ10, and whether added CoQ10 earns its place is a separate question.

Why US Labels Do Not State the Dose

Most buying guides miss this. FDA lists monacolin K, also known as lovastatin, as excluded from the dietary supplement definition.

  • Promoted lovastatin content: Treated as an unapproved drug.
  • NCCIH: More than trace monacolin K means not legally sold.
  • So: A lawful US label tells you the rice weight, not the statin dose.
  • And: A label boasting a monacolin K amount is a warning sign.

FDA places monacolin K in category 4 of its ingredient directory.[10]Information on Select Dietary Supplement Ingredients: Red Yeast Rice — U.S. Food and Drug Administration View source NCCIH adds that consumers cannot know the amount in a product.[11]Red Yeast Rice — National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health View source

Applying the Same Checks to Ours

We hold our product to the same list. Its label states 600 mg of red yeast rice plus 9 herbs, and no monacolin K amount.

Component Amount on the label Note
Red yeast rice 600 mg The only ingredient with an amount
Liver Safeguard blend: milk thistle seed, dandelion root, turmeric root, reishi, ginger root, burdock root, shiitake, artichoke, yellow dock Not stated per herb About 400 mg combined, by subtraction from 1,000 mg
Monacolin K Not stated Not on the label
  • Monacolin K: Not stated on the label.
  • Citrinin: No test result is published on this page.
  • Stacking: Our Cholesterol Power Pack already includes this bottle.
  • Sold as: A dietary supplement, not a cholesterol drug.

If you choose the red yeast rice capsule we sell, ask us whether a batch certificate of analysis is available before you start.

Speak to a Clinician Before Taking Red Yeast Rice If

  • You take a prescribed statin or any other cholesterol medicine
  • You are pregnant, trying to conceive or breastfeeding
  • You have liver or kidney disease, or drink alcohol heavily
  • You take cyclosporine, or medicines your pharmacist flags for lovastatin
  • You have had muscle pain, weakness or dark urine on a statin before
A man at a laptop at home with a plain supplement bottle beside it

Frequently Asked Questions

Which brands of red yeast rice are safe? +

No brand is safe by name alone, because testing finds wide variation: 0.09 to 5.48 mg of monacolin K per 1,200 mg across 26 brands. Ask for a certificate of analysis instead.

What is citrinin? +

A mold toxin made by some Penicillium, Aspergillus and Monascus species. It was found in all 37 red yeast rice products tested in Europe in 2021.

What does citrinin do to the body? +

It is mainly a kidney toxin, and reviews also describe effects on the liver, heart and reproductive system. Its toxicity depends on dose and duration, 2 things labels rarely state.

What mold produces citrinin? +

Species from 3 mold genera: Penicillium, Aspergillus and Monascus, the mold used to make red yeast rice.

Why doesn't the label list monacolin K? +

Because FDA lists monacolin K, also known as lovastatin, in category 4, excluded from the supplement definition. A product promoted for that content is treated as an unapproved drug.

What happened with red yeast rice in Japan? +

In 2024, beni-koji tablets were linked to kidney injury in 192 patients reported by Japanese nephrologists. The cause traced to puberulic acid, not citrinin.

Does citrinin-free on a label guarantee it? +

No. In 2021 testing, 4 European products labelled citrinin free contained citrinin.

How much monacolin K is in a 600 mg capsule? +

It depends on the product: 0.03 to 2.18 mg in 1 survey and 0.10 to 10.09 mg in another. Authentic reference samples held 1.2 to 1.38 mg per 600 mg.

Are red yeast rice supplements tested by the FDA? +

Not before sale. Supplements follow manufacturing rules, yet a 2017 study still found monacolin K varying more than 60-fold across 26 brands.

Related Reading