Omega-3 supplements should be compared by EPA plus DHA per serving, not by the 1,000 mg printed on the front. A 1,000 mg softgel may hold only a few hundred milligrams of EPA and DHA; Remedy's Ultimate Omega-3 lists 202 mg.
This guide covers fish, krill, algal and flax sources, oil forms, freshness checks and a cost-per-gram table. Disclosure: Remedy's Nutrition sells the omega-3 products shown here, so we are not a neutral third party.
Quick Answer: Choosing an Omega-3 Supplement
Compare omega-3 products by milligrams of EPA plus DHA per serving, then divide the price by that amount. Triglyceride-form oil absorbed better than ethyl esters in a 72-person trial. Freshness matters too, because half of 171 tested products exceeded voluntary oxidation limits. Check allergens, and ask your prescriber first if you take blood thinners.
Key Takeaways
- Compare EPA plus DHA per serving, not the 1,000 mg fish oil figure.
- Re-esterified triglyceride oil absorbed 124% versus fish oil; ethyl esters, 73%.
- Half of 171 tested products exceeded voluntary oxidation limits in one study.
- Remedy's Ultimate Omega-3 panel lists 202 mg of EPA plus DHA per capsule.
- Krill is shellfish; fish oil is fish; 2 different allergy rules apply.
EPA and DHA per Serving: The Number That Counts
Omega-3 labels list fish oil in milligrams and EPA and DHA on separate lines. Add the EPA and DHA lines to find the active amount per serving. For example, 120 mg of EPA plus 82 mg of DHA is 202 mg. That capsule holds 400 mg of fish oil.
- Find the EPA and DHA lines on the Supplement Facts panel, in milligrams
- Add them: EPA mg plus DHA mg gives the active amount per serving
- Divide the price per serving by that amount in grams to get the cost per gram
- Compare cost for the daily EPA plus DHA amount you actually plan to take
Official intake targets for EPA and DHA vary by organization, so follow the label directions and your clinician's advice. For background, see our overview of what fish oil and omega-3 are.
Fish Oil, Krill, Algal and Flax: Sources Compared
Fish oil, krill oil and algal oil supply the long-chain omega-3s EPA and DHA, while flaxseed oil supplies only ALA. NCCIH notes that krill oil carries omega-3s as phospholipids and that algal oils are a vegetarian source of DHA.[1]Omega-3 supplements — NCCIH View source
| Source | Omega-3 type | Usual form | Strength | Watch-outs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fish oil | EPA and DHA | Triglyceride or ethyl ester | Most EPA plus DHA per softgel | Fish allergen; can oxidize |
| Krill oil | EPA and DHA | Mostly phospholipid | Smaller softgel | Shellfish allergen; check that EPA and DHA are listed |
| Algal oil | DHA, sometimes EPA | Triglyceride | Vegan, no fish | Check EPA and DHA amounts |
| Flax or chia oil | ALA only | Triglyceride | Plant-based | Body converts little ALA to DHA |
| Cod liver oil | EPA and DHA | Triglyceride | Also supplies vitamins A and D | Excess vitamins A and D can be harmful |
Flax is a fair plant source of ALA, but the body converts little of it to DHA. In healthy adults, supplemental ALA raised EPA status but had little effect on DHA.[2]ALA supplementation and conversion in humans — Prostaglandins Leukot Essent Fatty Acids View source
Source matters less than dose. In a 12-week trial of 62 adults, fish oil gave 248 mg a day of EPA plus DHA and krill oil gave 286 mg. Both raised the omega-3 index by similar amounts.[3]Calanus, fish and krill oil bioavailability — Lipids View source For more, see our krill oil vs fish oil comparison.
Triglyceride, Ethyl Ester or Phospholipid?
Omega-3 oils come as natural triglycerides, re-esterified triglycerides, ethyl esters, free fatty acids or phospholipids. In a 72-person trial, re-esterified triglycerides delivered 124% of the EPA and DHA of natural fish oil. Free fatty acids delivered 91% and ethyl esters 73%.[4]Bioavailability of marine n-3 formulations — Prostaglandins Leukot Essent Fatty Acids View source
- Triglyceride or “rTG” on the label usually signals the better-absorbed form
- Ethyl esters are common and often cost less, so take them with a meal that contains fat
- Phospholipid is the form in krill oil; the larger trial above found similar results at matched doses
- No form stated means you should ask the seller before you buy
Food matters too, because a meal with fat changes how well omega-3 capsules absorb.[5]Bioavailability of long-chain omega-3s — Prostaglandins Leukot Essent Fatty Acids View source Remedy's Ultimate Omega-3 and 3-6-9 pages do not name the chemical form of the fish oil, while the krill page states phospholipid.
Freshness, Purity and Third-Party Testing
Omega-3 oils oxidize, and oxidized oil loses quality. A 2015 analysis of 171 North American supplements found 50% exceeded voluntary oxidation limits. Capsules without flavor additives scored better than bulk oils.[6]Oxidation of North American omega-3 supplements — J Nutr Sci View source
- Third-party seal: look for IFOS, USP Verified or NSF on the label
- Certificate of analysis for your lot, showing oxidation markers such as peroxide and anisidine values
- Purification: molecular distillation is a process claim, not a test result
- Smell and taste: a sharp, sour or strongly fishy odor means the oil is past its best
- Expiry date and storage: keep the bottle sealed, cool and dark
Remedy's Ultimate Omega-3 and 3-6-9 pages describe molecular distillation, and the krill page describes natural astaxanthin. None of the three pages links a lab certificate, so ask support for a certificate of analysis for your lot.
Remedy's Omega-3 Options Compared
Remedy's Nutrition sells three omega-3 products: a fish oil, a krill oil and a fish, flax and borage blend. The table uses each product page's Supplement Facts panel. A cell says “not stated” when the panel does not list EPA or DHA.
| Product | Serving | Oil on the label | EPA plus DHA per serving | Price | Per serving | Per 1 g EPA plus DHA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ultimate Omega-3 Fish Oil, 90 count | 1 capsule | Deep sea fish oil 400 mg | EPA 120 mg + DHA 82 mg = 202 mg | $22.99 | $0.26 | About $1.26 |
| Virgin Krill Oil, 60 softgels | 1 softgel | Virgin krill oil 600 mg | Not stated on the panel | $24.99 | $0.42 | Cannot be calculated |
| Omega 3-6-9, 60 softgels | 1 softgel | Fish, flax and borage oils; panel not published | Not stated on the page | $29.00 | $0.48 | Cannot be calculated |
Ultimate Omega-3 Fish Oil is the only one of the three whose panel lists EPA and DHA. It is the only one we can price per gram. The same panel also lists ALA 226 mg, linoleic acid 210 mg, GLA 82 mg and oleic acid 152 mg. Those fatty acids are not EPA or DHA.
- Reaching 1 g of EPA plus DHA would take about 5 capsules (5 × 202 mg = 1,010 mg), so higher targets may suit a more concentrated product
- Krill and 3-6-9: ask support for the EPA and DHA amounts before comparing cost
- Allergens: all three contain marine oil, and krill is a crustacean
Who Should Ask First: Safety and Interactions
Omega-3 supplements are usually well tolerated, and the common effects are a fishy aftertaste, burping, loose stools and headache. Some people need a clinician's input first. They include anyone on blood thinners, anyone with a fish or shellfish allergy and anyone with an irregular heartbeat.
| Situation | Why it matters | What to do |
|---|---|---|
| Blood thinners such as warfarin or antiplatelets | Omega-3 may add to bleeding effects, and the evidence is mixed | Tell your prescriber before starting |
| Planned surgery | Some clinicians ask patients to pause supplements beforehand | Follow your surgical team |
| Fish allergy or shellfish allergy | Fish oil is fish and krill oil is a crustacean | Avoid the matching product; ask an allergist about algal oil |
| Atrial fibrillation or irregular heartbeat | A 2021 meta-analysis of 7 trials found 25% higher risk, and 49% above 1 g a day | Ask your clinician before taking any dose |
| Cod liver oil | It also supplies vitamins A and D, which can be harmful in excess | Do not stack it with other A or D products |
| Pregnancy or nursing | Not enough is known about specific blends | Choose a product with your clinician |
The atrial fibrillation finding came from 81,210 people in 7 trials, and the risk rose with dose.[7]Marine omega-3 and atrial fibrillation meta-analysis — Circulation View source Our guide to fish oil side effects and safety covers more of the safety picture.
* These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do I need both omega-3 and fish oil? +
No. Fish oil is one source of omega-3, because it supplies EPA and DHA. 1 product is usually enough, and taking 2 separate omega-3 products can double up. If you use both, add the EPA and DHA from each label and check the total against label directions.
What should you not mix omega-3 with? +
Check with your prescriber before combining omega-3 with warfarin or antiplatelet drugs. Avoid stacking 2 or more omega-3 products, and remember cod liver oil also adds vitamins A and D. Take capsules with a meal to limit reflux.
Which brand of fish oil is the most trusted? +
No single brand fits everyone, so judge by criteria. Look for EPA and DHA in milligrams per serving, a third-party seal such as IFOS, USP Verified or NSF, a lot-specific certificate of analysis, an expiry date and a stated oil form. We sell 3 omega-3 products, but these 5 checks work on any label.
Is it OK to take fish oil every day? +
For most adults, daily fish oil at label directions is usually well tolerated. Most participants in the atrial fibrillation meta-analysis took 1 g a day or less, and risk rose with higher doses. Ask your clinician before exceeding label directions, and mention any blood thinners.
What is the downside of taking fish oil? +
Common downsides are fishy aftertaste, burping, loose stools and headache, which are usually mild. Rarer concerns include bleeding with blood thinners and, above 1 g a day, a higher atrial fibrillation risk in 7 trials. People with a fish allergy cannot use it.
How many 1000mg fish oil pills should I take a day? +
Count EPA plus DHA, not pills. A 1,000 mg softgel may hold only a few hundred milligrams of EPA and DHA, so 1 pill and 3 pills differ by brand. Follow the label: Remedy's Ultimate Omega-3 lists 1 capsule daily with 202 mg of EPA and DHA. Ask your clinician about higher targets.
What are the signs that omega-3 is working? +
There is no reliable day-to-day feeling. Omega-3 status shows up in blood tests such as the omega-3 index, which rose about 1 percentage point in a 12-week trial at roughly 250 to 290 mg a day of EPA plus DHA. Judge by lab results over 3 months, not by how you feel in 1 week.
Is krill oil better than fish oil? +
Not necessarily. A 12-week trial of 62 adults found similar omega-3 index gains from fish oil and krill oil at comparable EPA plus DHA doses. Krill softgels are smaller, but krill is shellfish, and our krill label does not list EPA and DHA. Check for those 2 numbers first.
Is an omega 3-6-9 blend the same as fish oil? +
No. A 3-6-9 blend mixes omega-3 with omega-6 and omega-9, and many diets already supply plenty of those 2. Only the omega-3 part (EPA, DHA, ALA) matters for this comparison, so look for EPA and DHA in milligrams. Remedy's 3-6-9 page does not publish them.
How can I tell if fish oil has gone rancid? +
A strong fishy smell, a sharp or sour taste or stale-tasting burps are common signs. Check the expiry date, keep the bottle sealed in a cool, dark place and discard capsules that smell strong. A 2015 study found 50% of 171 products exceeded oxidation limits.
Related Reading

